Joy drive to Prashar Lake (Himachal Pradesh)!!!

Why Go To Prashar Lake:

Deep Blue Lake with Floating Island, Panoramic View of Snow Clad Mountains, 13th Century 3 Storey Pagoda Shaped Temple Dedicated to Rishi Prashar!!!

Distance: 50 km Motorable Drive from Mandi (Himachal Pradesh).

Elevation: 2730m (8956 ft) Above Sea Level.

Date of Drive: 26.11.2012

During one of my visits to Mandi few months back, an old wise man had described to me the beauty of Prashar lake and panoramic view of surrounding hills and valleys from hill top near Prashar lake. I have a knack for visiting new places and newer roads. So opportunity presented itself and I decided to grab it.

Prashar lake on my mind, got up to a crisp, sunny, cool morning at hotel Kenilworth Manali. Morning rituals, breakfast, check out…..I was on my way. Soon I was driving on beautiful road along the beautiful Beas river to Kullu, Bhuntar and Bajaura.

River Beas near Kullu
River Beas near Kullu
River Beas near Kullu
River Beas near Kullu
Kullu bye pass
Kullu bye pass

Bajaura is a 55 km pleasant drive from Manali on NH 21, along the beautiful Beas river, passing through some of the most busiest, bustling towns of Kullu valley. At bajaura I turned right on state highway to Mandi for Prashar lake. After 26 kilometer drive on a narrow, lonely, beautiful road, reached a ‘Y’ junction.  Straight road continues for Mandi (25 km) and left leads to Prashar Lake (23 km).

on the way to Prashar lake
on the way to Prashar lake
on the way to Prashar lake
on the way to Prashar lake

The road from here is a dirt track, passes through thick, dark but beautiful forest. There are a number of water crossings. You should not be surprised if you don’t see any human or vehicle for many miles. Though there are  some small villages enroute.

drive to Prashar lake
Drive to Prashar lake
Drive to Prashar lake
Drive to Prashar lake

I parked my car at a parking lot along the road. From there its around half a mile walk up the hill on a autumn burnt dry grass. The lake and temple area is maintained by a trust and is fenced all around with barbed wire. There are small iron gates to enter the area.

Prashar lake and temple
Prashar lake and temple

After walking half a mile, the first glimpse of the lake and pagoda shaped temple is a pretty sight. Presence of few young college boys and girls were giving it a very colorful look to otherwise calm and serene surroundings.

Prashar lake and temple
Prashar lake and temple
Prashar Rishi temple
Prashar Rishi temple
nearby hill, prashar lake
Nearby hill, prashar lake
Prashar Rishi Temple
Prashar Rishi Temple

The three story pagoda shaped wooden temple is said to be constructed in the 13th century and held sacred to Rishi Parashar.

Prashar Lake
Prashar Lake

The Prashar lake with its blue water, unmeasured depth,  is located at 2730 meter above sea level and has a floating landmass in the middle of lake.

img1126_151932332
view of prashar lake from nearby hill

After paying my respect at the temple, walked around the lake and went up a nearby hill. At one point, the hike and angle of the climb was such that I felt like falling and rolling down the hill on my back.

view of Prashar Rishi temple from nearby hill
View of Prashar Rishi temple from nearby hill
view of himalayas from a hill near prashar lake
View of Himalayas from a hill near Prashar Lake

On reaching the highest hill in the area I felt like a winner. The panoramic view of the Himalayas and Valleys was just amazing . In my thoughts I thanked the old wise man at Mandi who had built my dream describing the beauty of the place and planting a seed in my mind. Here I was, a few months after, living that dream.

Prashar lake and temple, another view
Prashar lake and temple, another view

I closed my eyes and sat in silence for a while at the hill to absorb the beauty of the place. I did not knew how time just flew by. I saw people leave the place and soon the lake area was giving a deserted look. Very few people stay here for the night. Evening was setting in. I also decided to leave. Descended down to the road where my lalpari was parked.

my lalpari parked on the road
Lalpari parked on the road

Looking at this beautiful forest rest house, for a moment I got double minded whether to stay or move down to the next destination. The chill in the air, paucity of electricity and food at the rest house made me to leave the place.

Forest Rest House, Prashar Lake
Forest Rest House, Prashar Lake
Google map of the route followed for the day…..Manali-Bajaura-Prashar Lake-Chail Chowk.

Drove back to Bajaura through forests of Prashar dhar and reached NH 21 before dark. Not sure where would I spend the night, started checking hotels at Pandoh and after reassurance from one of the filling station attendant, decided to drive on a state road to Chail Chowk.

There were three reasons for my decision to drive to Chail Chowk. Number one: I had forgotten my photon plus viz device at the Hotel Hill View, Naldehra on my way up, which I needed to collect back. Number two: There was a chance of going to Janjehli and Shikari Devi, the next day. Number three: I like this drive…from Chail Chowk to Shimla via naldehra.

Having these thoughts in mind, drove on a secluded dark road to Chail Chowk via Pandoh. I was not sure whether I would find any good accommodation at Chail Chowk. At Chail Chowk I met a gentleman named Pankaj whom I had given lift on my way up. He helped me in finding a good accommodation at forest rest house Chail Chowk.

The Stay at Chail Chowk forest rest house was absolutely fantastci. The rest house was large, neat and well kept. I was the only resident of the rest house on that night. On my request, the caretaker brought liquor from the market and cooked nice simple food for me.

Took few drinks, ate simple but wonderful food comprising dal, sabzi, roti and salad and went deep down in the fantasy of my dreams, thinking of going to Shikari Devi, the next day.

17 thoughts on “Joy drive to Prashar Lake (Himachal Pradesh)!!!

  1. What an awesome destination! The road to get there looks pretty hairy, but beautiful things like this are always kind of hard to reach. Thanks for the pictures and awesome post!

  2. Hi Sunil..Can you please share your contact number.Like to know some info on Parashar,I am from South most state of India planning to travel to this loc in the month of August.

  3. Hws d road conditions till lake.. is it motor able till lake??? Vl b going in may from kullu. V hv kids with us.

    • Jee Hetal, road is motorable till about 500 meters below the lake. Road is rough, ascent, passes through a forest and is full of slush during rains. I thing it will be okay in May and no problems with kids of course.

Leave a Reply

